Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences State Level Men & Women Inter Collegiate Basketball Tournament


The Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences State Level Inter-Collegiate Men & Women Basketball Tournament was inaugurated at the Aditya Multi-Sports Indoor Stadium on the 19 th February 2019. This prestigious tournament was hosted by Aditya Bangalore Institute of Pharmacy Education and Research (ABIPER), Yelahanka, Bangalore from 19th to 21st February 2019
The Chief Guest Dr. Linge Gowda K.B, Registrar (Evaluation), RGUHS-Bangalore, spoke about the importance of promoting sports participation in professional colleges. He emphasized that facilities for conducting sports should be available in all institutions. Dr. Linge Gowda appreciated the vision and efforts of Dr. B. A. Viswanath, Chairman, Aditya Group of Institutions, in developing an excellent indoor stadium and encouraging students to take part in extra-curricular activities. Mr. Anil Kumar B.K, an international basketball player who has represented India in several international championships, was the Guest of Honor. He urged the students to cultivate dedication and determination to excel, which would take them beyond the state level to participating in national and international championships. Dr. B.A.Viswanath, Chairman, Aditya Group of Institutions and Senate Member, RGUHS, Karnataka, who graced the occasion, thanked the honorable Dr .S .Sachidanand, Vice-Chancellor, RGUHS for providing ABIPER the opportunity to conduct a state level basketball tournament. He congratulated all the participants and wished them a pleasant stay at the college premises.
Thirty teams (22 men teams & 8 women teams) from various colleges in Karnataka participated in the RGUHS State Level Men & Women Inter Collegiate Basketball Tournament championship.
In a thrilling final match, Bangalore medical college and research institute, K R road, Karnataka, emerged the winners of the prestigious RGUHS State Level Men’s basketball tournament. SDM College of Medical Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka, was the runners up. The women’s team from M.S. Ramaiah Medical College, Bangalore won the Women’s trophy. The runners up were the women’s team from St. John’s Medical College and Hospital, Bangalore.

Campus Events